The swedes are taking over Toronto

0kommentarer

I just read in "The Grid" that a new cafe, inspired by Sweden, is about to open in Kensington Market here in Toronto.

This is from their website:

"FIKA Definition: Originally used as a Swedish verb meaning “to go out for coffee,” the word fika can also be used as a noun (“coffee break”). It is standard in Sweden to invite friends to fika every few hours during the work day. One’s coffee is normally accompanied with a small snack such as a sweet bread, cinnamon roll, or piece of cake.

Pronunciation: FEE-ka
 
Examples: Let’s go fika at the new café FIKA in Kensington Market!"

http://fikakensington.wordpress.com/

HAHA! Yes, we totally have coffee breaks all the time during work days....or do we? Really, it depends on the job. However, is this why everyone we meet in Toronto thinks swedes barely work? What's up with 6 hour work days? We work just as much as you, Canadians, AND - you guys drink coffee during work too. Just to make things clear.

If you think I'm weird, writing sometimes in swedish, sometimes in english, it depends on how much time I have and where I'm writing from. Now for instance, it's super slow at the store so I'm blogging from the work computer, which means no special swedish alfabetic letters - so I'm writing in english. If I'm in a rush and I have access to my own computer it's so much faster to write in swedish. Important information? NO. Do you even care? Probably not. Why am I having a conversation with myself? ....eeh.

About tonight, as I told you before, Maddy is turning 16 today so we're going out for dinner at a very special restaurant called O.Noir. It's really crazy. The whole restaurant is completely dark - no lights AT ALL. We'll be accompanied to the table by the blind staff (because we wont see anything) and we'll eat our food together, seeing nothing at all. Also, it's possible to chose their "surprise menu". Haha, not sure if I will, but I'm sure that would be a fun thing to do. I'll let you know tomorrow how it was!

This is their website. They have a restaurant in Montreal too and I have a friend who has been there. He actually went there on a date. Literally a blind date....haha.
http://www.onoir.com/TO/frames.htm

e

Kommentera

Publiceras ej